List of World Series champions

The World Series is the annual championship series of Major League Baseball (MLB) and concludes the MLB postseason. Played in 1903, the World Series championship is set through a best-of-seven playoff and is a competition between the champions of baseball’s National League (NL) and American League (AL). Frequently known as the”Fall Classic”, the modern World Series was played annually since 1903 with two exceptions: in 1904, when the NL champion New York Giants declined to play the AL champion Boston Americans; and in 1994, once the series was canceled due to the players’ strike.
The best-of-seven style has been the format of all World Series except in 1903, 1919, 1920, and 1921, once the winner was decided through a best-of-nine playoff. Even though the large majority of competitions are played completely during the month of October, a few of Series also have had games played during September and November. The Series-winning group is awarded the Commissioner’s Trophy. Players, coaches and others associated with the group are generally given World Series rings to commemorate their success ; however, they have obtained other items such as pocket watches and medallions previously. The winning team is traditionally invited into the White House to meet with the President of the United States.
A total of 114 Series are contested, with the NL winner winning 48 and the AL champion winning 66. The New York Yankees of the AL have played 40 World Series through 2018–winning 27–the most Series appearances and many victories of any Major League Baseball franchise. The Los Angeles Dodgers of the NL have the most losses with 14. The St. Louis Cardinals have represented the NL 19 occasions, and won 11 championships, second-most among all teams and many one of NL clubs. Both the Giants and the Los Angeles Dodgers have appeared in more World Series, with 20 each.
The Seattle Mariners and the Washington Nationals (formerly Montreal Expos) would be the only present Major League Baseball franchises to haven’t appeared in a World Series; the San Diego Padres, Colorado Rockies, Texas Rangers (formerly the 1961–1971 version of the Washington Senators), Tampa Bay Rays, and Milwaukee Brewers (previously Seattle Pilots) have all played at the Series but haven’t won. The Toronto Blue Jays are the only franchise from outside the United States to appear in a World Series, winning in 1992 and 1993. The Houston Astros have represented both the NL (2005) along with the AL (2017), winning the Series at 2017. The World Series champions that are current are the Boston Red Sox.

Read more: mma betting online